Alastair Savage - When Barley Reaches Shore

Alastair Savage - When Barley Reaches Shore

format: CD   |   ref: SAV005CD   |   released: January 2019   |   condition: new

13.22 UK & EU
11.02 USA & Rest Of World

Despatch next working day.

COVID19 Coronavirus***Update***Please note our online ordering and postal despatch are still in operation despite the ongoing situation. Should there be any delay in despatch of your order we will notify you directly by e-mail, for delivery information please check Royal Mail service updates - delivery delays. Read about UK & International delivery charges & times.

10 Tracks: Farewell To Whisky / Highland Whisky / Miss Stewart Of Grandtully * Marquis Of Tullibardine / Dunkeld Hermitage * Hector The Hero / Milladen / The Devil In The Kitchen / The Devil And The Dirk * The Soldier's Prayer * Islay Wedding Music, Part 1: Wedding Morn / Jenni Minto's One Way Ticket To Sanaigmore Beach / The Port Charlotte Reel * Islay Wedding Music, Part 2: Welcome Jig / The Boat To Jura / Finlaggan's Farewell * Marquis Of Huntly / Miss Cameron Of Balvenie / Mrs McPherson Of Gibston * Chapel Keithack * Miss Hannah Of Elgin / Mrs Fraser Of Cullen * The Music O' Spey.

A fifth solo album from fiddle maestro Alastair Savage, includes Scots fiddle repertoire by Niel Gow, James Scott Skinner, William Marshall.

As well as the music of the great 18th and 19th century fiddle composers, Alastair includes many of his own compositions as well.

Alastair showcases Skinner's beautifully haunting airs 'Hector The Hero' and 'The Music O' Spey'.

The Islay Wedding Music Part 1 features melodies commissioned by friends for a wedding on Islay in 2013 and Part 2 includes tunes written by Alastair for his own wedding in 2016 on the same island.

His other composition is The Soldier's Prayer which is a deeply poignant dedication to the British soldiers lost recently in conflicts overseas.

The album represents Alastair's first recording project alongside sound engineer David Gray at the Sound Cafe near Penicuik, Midlothian.

Sleeve notes included with further background to selected tunes.

Alastair Savage (fiddle), Euan Drysdale (guitar and piano), Iain Crawford (double bass).

You Viewed