(1997) 19 tunes: Edwin Flaws of Wyre (Freeland Barbour) * Fenella (Paul Stewart Cranford) * The Ruby (Phil Cunningham) * Rose of St Magnus (Ivan Drever) * The Laird of Atherton (Alasdair Fraser) * Campbell's Roup (David 'Dagger' Gordon) * The Falls of Altnarie (Ian Hardie) * A Tune for a Queen (Addie Harper) * Balnain's Strathspey and Reel (Corrina Hewat) * Big Angus (Fergie MacDonald) * Caledonia (Dougie MacLean) * The Balnain Ball (Brian McNeill) * Davidson the Luthier (Gavin Marwick) * Country Feast (David Mulligan) * Inverness Fiddlers (Bert Murray) * Fred Macaulay's March to Balnain House (Ian Crichton) * Jarl Leask 1995 (Judi Nicolson) * The Balnain Household (Dougie Pincock) * In and Out the Mishnish (Andy Thorburn).

New Scottish music - The Balnain Collection contains tunes from nineteen composers, representing the best of contemporary music within the living tradition.

Balnain House itself had an enormous influence in the encouragement of young musicians and provision of a platform for established performers.

Most of the contributors to this collection played at Balnain House, and will share fond memories of its great contribution to Scottish culture: Freeland Barbour, Paul Cranford, Ian Crichton, Phil Cunningham, Ivan Drever, Alasdair Fraser, Dagger Gordon, Ian Hardie, Addie Harper, Corrina Hewat, Fergie MacDonald, Dougie MacLean, Brian McNeill, Gavin Marwick, David Milligan, Bert Murray, Judi Nicolson, Dougie Pincock and Andy Thorburn.

Covering a wide range of styles and suitable for a variety of instruments.

Music, chords and lyrics. A4.

You Viewed