Cruinn - James Graham, Fiona Mackenzie, Brian O hEadhra and Rachel Walker

Cruinn - James Graham, Fiona Mackenzie, Brian O hEadhra and Rachel Walker

format: CD   |   ref: CRUINN001   |   condition: new

12.46 UK & EU
10.38 USA & Rest Of World

Despatch next working day.

Read about UK & International delivery charges & times.

Rachel Walker - winner of the 2013 MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards Gaelic Singer Of The Year.

(April 2013) 11 tracks: A Phiuthrag's A Phiuthair * Gun Dòchas * Mala Chaol Is Beul Tana * Phòs Iain Ailean * Faoiseamh * Càite Bheil I Ann Am Muile * Èirich Isean Èirich * Òran Celia * Fhalbh Oirre Ho * Hò Rò Mo Bhàta * Ceann Tràigh Ghruinneart.

A debut album of contemporary and traditional songs from some of Gaeldom’s finest singers.

The Highland based quartet Cruinn brings together premier Gaelic singers - James Graham, Fiona Mackenzie, Brian Ó hEadhra and Rachel Walker.

They have earned high distinction for their musicianship and performances as individual performers, collectively as Cruinn they are admired for their presentations of songs in Gaelic, both traditional and contemporary.

A beautiful album with an outstanding use of harmonies and skilful arrangements.

An interesting mix of songs rich in the Gaelic song tradition with a few innovative adaptation to Gaelic by Joan Sutherland of a poem 'To Celia' published after March 1616 by the English poet Ben Johnson. After 1770 this poem became the lyrics of the song 'Drink To Me Only With Thine Eyes'.

Featuring a Gaelic translation of a beautiful Hungarian love song, which Brian learned from the Hungarian band Muzsikas and wonderful singing of Marta Sebestyen.

Not only accomplished singers, they accompany their songs with an array of instruments, including piano, guitar, pipes, bodhran, whistle, shruti box, harmonica, percussion, and accordion

Booklet includes full song lyrics and translations.

James Graham (vocals, whistles), Fiona Mackenzie (vocals), Brian O hEadhra (vocals, acoustic guitar, shruti box), Rachel Walker (vocals, piano, rhodes).

Guest musicians: Jim Sutherland (percussion), Euan Burton (double bass), Matheu Watson (acoustic guitar, fiddle, viola, whistles).

"a programme that's strikingly contemporary but rich in the character and warmth of the Gaelic music tradition."
Rob Adams (Sunday Herald).

You Viewed