Jo Philby - Beneath The Starry Sky

Jo Philby - Beneath The Starry Sky

format: CD   |   ref: JPS02   |   condition: new

13.45 UK & EU
11.21 USA & Rest Of World

We expect this product back again soon.
You can order this product now, and it will be sent as soon as we receive stock from our supplier.
If you also order in-stock products now, these will be sent to you separately.

COVID19 Coronavirus***Update***Please note our online ordering and postal despatch are still in operation despite the ongoing situation. Should there be any delay in despatch of your order we will notify you directly by e-mail, for delivery information please check Royal Mail service updates - delivery delays. Read about UK & International delivery charges & times.

(January 2013) 13 tracks: Winter Song * Bonnie Bessie Logan * The White Hare * The Shore Neath The Tide * In The Garden Of Heaven * I Live Not Where I Love * The Sleepless Sailor * The Maid On The Shore * Start It All Over Again * These Days * Blackfly * Leaboys Lassie * The Longer The Waiting (The Sweeter The Kiss).

A second album from talented folk singer Jo, with a mix of folk songs and American Country styles.

This CD heralds the beginning of a new chapter for Jo, with a new line-up bringing a much fuller "roots" sound and one that reflects recording in both Orkney and Nashville.

The CD showcases Jo at her very best, clear soulfully expressive vocal with atmospheric arrangements.

Harmony vocals enhancing Jo's clear melodic line, and a wide variety of accompanying instruments.

Originally from the South of England, Jo has been firmly established in Orkney since 2002. Her early inspiration stemmed from the English and Irish traditions.

She became involved with the vibrant, local folk scene joining in sessions with songs and full instrumental accompaniments... far removed from her acapella beginnings.

She regularly appears at the Orkney folk Festival and many community events.

Jo Philby (vocals), Phil Anderson (guitars, mandolin, samples, bass, harmony vocals), Kathie Touin (piano), Elaine Grieve (harmony vocals), Derek Curtis (low whistle), Linda Hamilton (cello).

Guest Musicians: Donal Murphy (accordion), Broken Strings (Aidan, Graham, Robbie, Chloe, Magnus, Guille).

"Jo has a pure and mature voice and clearly believes in her chosen material." fRoots Magazine.

"Beautiful vocals and harmonies combine for a CD that all will enjoy."

"Jo Philby's superb new album really shifts everything up a gear." John Ross Scott for Living Orkney.

You Viewed