(1998) 12 tracks (51 mins): The Bonnie Lass of Albany * Unknown Polka / The Dancing Master's Reel / As I Went Out Upon the Ice * Pastures of Plenty * The Downfall of Paris / The Chanter's Tune * Shake Loose the Border * Seamus's Jig / Unknown / The Monaghan Jig / Unknown * Patrick's Island * The Gypsy Laddie * The Sligo Maid / The Humours of Tulla / St Anne's Reel / The Green Fields of Rossbeigh / O'Rourke's Reel * Shady Cove * Rodney's Glory / An Spalpeen Fanach * The Spanish Lady.

Pastures of Plenty reunites all the original members of the JSD Band for the first time in the recording studio since their 1970's heyday.

The band were compiling new material over the couple of years prior to 1998, which drew from the same original mix of traditional Irish, Scottish and American music along with a new song penned by fiddler Chuck Fleming.

After the acoustic 'For the Record', this album sees them switch back on the amplification for the more familiar sound of electric folk which they helped pioneer when they played with the likes of David Bowie.

The album has developed a more contemporary feel, featuring the sax of Sean O'Rourke, the electric guitar of Des Coffield and introduces Rob Mairs on 5 string Banjo and Dobro. The line-up is completed with Chuck Fleming on fiddle, Jim Divers on Bass and Colin Finn on drums and percussion.

You Viewed