(1999) 14 tracks (52 mins): O'Carolan's Dream * The Lads of Mull * The Seas are Deep * The Dam Busters' Jig * Mama's Pet * Untitled March * Tull's Jig * Untitled Polka * Lexy McAskill * Tom Bigby * Castle Kelly * The Maids of Mount Cisco * Salutaris Hostia * The Ale is Dear.

With Sean O'Rourke (saxophone, flute, whistle, guitar, bass, bodhran, bouzouki), Paul Henderson (guitar, synth) and Vijay Kangutkar (percussion).

The Keltz' music is based on traditional, celtic forrns. However, the concepts applied to these forms, such as improvising over the form of the tune and creating interest through tension and release by using ingoing and outgoing harmony, are ideas developed in the Jazz world.

An extra twist is added to the music by the use of Indian percussion. There are parallels between Indian classical music and celtic music. Both are highly decorative, strongly rhythmic and linear, using patterns based on sets of scales.

    Search Music Scotland

  • more Keltz titles


You Viewed