(February 2003) 11 tracks: Muevela * Rumba Del Pueblo * Se Va La Marea * Un Jardinero De Amor * Que Seria * Me Voy Pal Baile * Fuerza Montuno * Por Ti * Lagrimas Negras * Mi Buenos Aires Querido * One For Carlos.

La Sonera Calaveras revive the magical and intimate sound of classic Cuban 'son' music, dating from the 1920s and popularised by artists such as the Afro-Cuban All-Stars and Buena Vista Social Club. Their vibrant and passionate debut album is laced with influences from throughout Latin America to Scotland.

Formed in 1999, the band share a diversity of musical backgrounds from folkloric through Latin to jazz. Their immediate popular appeal brought them the Danny Kyle Open Stage award at the 2001 Celtic Connections festival in Glasgow, where they returned the following year to appear with Salsa Celtica at The Barrowlands.

Original material written by La Sonera Calaveras: Gerardo Ballesteros (vocals, bongos), Tina Clarke (percussion, vocals), Johnny Beaver (tres guitar, vocals), Robert Henderson (trumpet), Bob Thomson (bass, vocals) and Richard Manning (guitar, vocals).

Guest musicians from Capercaillie, Salsa Celtica and Rumba Caliente include: David 'Chimp' Robertson (congas, percussion), Ricardo Fernandez Pompa (vocals, percussion), Javier Chernicoff (vocals, percussion), Donald Shaw (accordion), Lino Rocha (vocals) and Michael Deans (clarinet). Produced by Donald Shaw.

"winning edgy spark... Their debut album stamps out a distinct musical personality." (Sunday Herald)

You Viewed