The Simon Thoumire Orchestra - Music for a New Scottish Parliament

The Simon Thoumire Orchestra - Music for a New Scottish Parliament

format: CD   |   ref: CDTT1007   |   condition: new

12.85 UK & EU
10.71 USA & Rest Of World

Despatch next working day.

COVID19 Coronavirus***Update***Please note our online ordering and postal despatch are still in operation despite the ongoing situation. Should there be any delay in despatch of your order we will notify you directly by e-mail, for delivery information please check Royal Mail service updates - delivery delays. Read about UK & International delivery charges & times.

(1999) 19 tracks

A limited edition CD from an elite ensemble of folk and jazz musicians. Written by Simon to mark an exciting time in Scotland's history when its people voted for its own Parliament after a lapse of 300 years. The music is contemporary yet there is no mistaking that it is firmly rooted in Scottish tradition. The CD was recorded at the Glasgow Royal Concert Hall at the opening of the BBC's Music Live festival in May 1999.

Simon Thoumire (concertina), Eilidh Shaw (fiddle), Aidan O'Rourke (fiddle), Anna-Wendy Stevenson (fiddle), Mike Katz (Highland pipes, whistles), David Milligan (piano), Colin Steel (trumpet), Tom MacNiven (trumpet), Phil Bancroft (saxophone), Elspeth Cowie (vocals), Alyth MacCormack (vocals), Kevin Mackenzie (guitar), Neil Harland (bass), Tom Bancroft (drums, bodhran). Conductor Russell Cowieson, speakers Rob Stokes, Catriona MacDonald, Aonghas MacNeacail.

You Viewed