Live Act of the Year 2005 - Scots Trad Music Awards

(May 2005) 11 tracks (56 mins): Scots On The Rocks * Weakened * Croftwork * The Anthropologist * When The Seahound Left Me * Decisions, Decisions / Kevin O'Neill Of Rutherglen * Veganites * Trans Island Express * The Great Ceilidh Swindle * Drone Age * All About Windmills.

The fourth album from the Isle of Skye-based techno-folkies. Their most ambitious and dynamic release to date, with some inventive new material, special guest performances and a top class brass section.

Based on Skye, The Peatbog Faeries played to audiences all over the world. Recent highlights have been tours in Australia and America as well as prominent festivals and gigs around the UK and Europe. 2005 sees the band promoting Croftwork with extensive touring, including festivals such as Glastonbury and Beautiful Days.

Peter Morrison (pipes, whistles), Adam Sutherland (fiddle, mandolin, guitar), Innes Hutton (bass, percussion, guitar), Tom Salter (guitar), Leighton Jones (piano, keyboards) and Iain Copeland (drums, percussion, programming, keyboards).

With Andy Thorburn (piano, keyboards), Calum MacLean (twanger, programming, guitar), Seamas MacLennan (mandola), Sandy Wright (dobro), Rick Taylor (trombone) and Nigel Hitchcock (saxophones).

"We hope to have created something that will be a surprise to Peatbog fans and first time listeners alike." (Peatbog Faeries)

"Mere earth words can't do the Faeries justice" (NME Glastonbury Festival)

"....increasingly adventurous melting pot of fragmented fiddle and pipe tunes. Deep dub bass lines and all round spacey electronica comprehensively rocked the house." (The Scotsman)

"The many existing Peatbog fans, along with other lovers of cutting-edge folk fusion, will love it." (Glasgow Herald on Welcome to Dun Vegas)

You Viewed