(September 2008 re-release of 2001 recording) 11 tracks (66 mins): Martin Roachford's / The Oyster Woman's Rant * The Folk Police * Captain Coull's Parrot * Namedropper / The Little Cascade * Faerie Stories * Cameronian Rant * Get Your Frets Off * Mr Problematic * Caberdrone * Weirdness * Alexander MacAskill of Bernera, Harris.

Based on the Isle of Skye, the Peatbog Faeries released their debut album Mellowosity in 1996 to critical acclaim. Since then they have toured extensively and are in great demand at festivals around the world.

This is high octane Celtic dance music which incorporates many musical influences, from traditional jigs and reels through to jazz, hip-hop and reggae.

Peter Morrison (pipes, whistles), Ben Ivitsky (fiddles, throat singing, triangle), Innes Hutton (bass, percussion, bodhran), Iain Copeland (drums, percussion, sampling, Logic Audio), Ali Pentland (guitar, mandolin, Octavius) and Nurudin (keyboards, general weirdness).

"Powerful melodies are dextrously pumped out with a smart degree of techno attitude, while cross-rhythms ricochet over a heavy bass that hits you forcefully like a massive heart beat. Reggae, dub and soca rhythms all play their part with a lot of gorgeously undulating modal melodies from Macedonia and further ... Nothing in the recognisable front line of bagpipes, fiddle, synthesiser, bass and rhythm guitar, with a straight drumkit at the back, prepares you for the high octane music of the Peatbog Faeries" (The Scotsman)

"the future of Celtic dance music"

(previously CDTRAX214)

You Viewed