18 Tracks: The 19th (Chris Finegan) * We Were Not Made For The Shadows (Yvonne Lyon, co-written by David Lyon And Yvonne Lyon) * Searching For Scotland (Ian McCalman) * Taste of Liberty (Findlay Napier) * Bonny Star (Gill Bowman) * The War of The Crofter (Brian McNeill) * We Must Unite - A Better Place For All (Simon Kempston) * Cronan a 'Chamhanaich - Dawn Lullaby (Fiona J Mackenzie) * Scotland's Future (Charlie Milne) * Duke Street To Jericho (Scott Murray) * Scotia Nova (Findlay Napier, written by Alistair Findlay) * The Road Is Still Leading Us On (Yvonne Lyon, co-written by Yvonne Lyon & David Lyon) * The Pioneers (Duncan McCrone And Cy Jack) * An Exile Reflects - On Independence (Iain MacDonald) * O Man, Jock Tamson (Mairi Campbell And Dave Francis) * Nova Scotia - New Scotland (Frank Rae) * Yesterday and Tomorrow (Colin Donati) * It's Up To You! (The Tolerated, written by Martin Watkins).

This unique album showcases a broad variety of songwriting styles and singers.

It follows the publish of a book of poems by Luath Press in 2014, Scotia Nova - Poems For The Early Days of a Better Nation.

Scotia Nova - Songs For The Early Days Of A Better Nation is the result of a project headed by Mairi Campbell, Dave Francis, poet Alistair Findlay and Ian McCalman along with Gavin MacDougall of Luath Press and Ian Green of Greentrax.

Songwriters, who the group believed would be interested in the project were invited to submit newly composed songs.

The response was tremendous and eighteen songs, were selected and recorded, most songs sung by the writers with a few exceptions.

This album is a perfect companion to the hugely popular book!

The songwriters include Yvonne Lyon, Fiona J Mackenzie, Gill Bowman, Mairi Campbell, Dave Francis, Finlay Napier, Brian McNeill, David Lyon, Scott Murray, Charlie Milne, Ian McCalman, Iain MacDonald, Alistair Findlay, Duncan McCrone, Cy Jack and more.

You Viewed