Sophie Ramsay - The Seas Between Us

Sophie Ramsay - The Seas Between Us

format: CD   |   ref: SRAM003   |   released: October 2016   |   condition: new

12.83 UK & EU
10.69 USA & Rest Of World

Despatch next working day.

With the increasing news and concerns regarding the COVID-19 coronavirus, we would like to advise our customers that should your order be delayed for any reason we will notify you directly by e-mail of any issues that may arise. Read about UK & International delivery charges & times.

12 Tracks: Ae Fond Kiss * The Burning Of Auchindoun * Bothan Airigh Am Braighe Raithneach * By Yon Castle Wa' * Braighe Loch Iall * The Lea Rig * Bidh Clann Ulaidh * The Dowie Dens Of Yarrow * My Love's In Germanie * Song Composed In August * MacPherson's Rant * Auld Lang Syne.

An album of 12 old Scots and Gaelic songs from London-based Scots singer Sophie Ramsay.

Recorded and produced by Matheu Watson.

Includes sleeve notes with lyrics and Gaelic translations

Sophie Ramsay (voice, guitar, piano), Matheu Watson (guitars, fiddle, mandolin, harmonium, prepared instruments, synthesiser), Fraser Fifield (low whistle, lowland pipes, kaval), Jim Rattigan (French horn), Ben Cashell (cello) and Findlay Napier (voice).

"Matheu Watson and I both grew up with Scots and Gaelic folk music. As close as we feel to the tradition, we also like to make it feel new. This is an album of very old Scots and Gaelic songs, sung in a pure way, almost as though unaccompanied, but supported by a gush of sounds from guitars and prepared resonator, fiddle, mandolin, organ and synth, Fraser Fifield's low whistle with loop pedals, kaval and lowland pipes; cello (Ben Cashell), French horn (Jim Rattigan), Findlay Napier's baritone vocals and the eerie nostalgia of an old asthmatic piano. Leo Abrahams (Brian Eno, Regina Spektor) creatively mixed the album, adding final textural garnish." Sophie Ramsay.

You Viewed