1994 (re-release from 1977) Silver Spear * The Shipyard Apprentice * Crossing the Minch * The Brisk Young Lad * Birnzie Bouzle * Compliments of the Band * Bonnie Jean * It Was All For Our Rightful King * The Inverness Gathering * Miss Margaret Brown's Favourite * The Cruel Brother.

This album was originally released on the Topic label in 1977. It features Alan Reid, Brian McNeill, Jamie McMenemy and John Gahagan. Since then Battlefield Band has gone from strength to strength. As a team, along with producer Robin Morton, they have made a number of critically acclaimed albums, but this was the one that made people pay attention to a band who continue to tour the world, playing to an ever widening audience. Fine musicians, hard work and good music have put them at the top and even today this album sounds as fresh as when it was made in 1976.

"the band have always been at the forefront of presenting Scottish music in a fresh and modern context and it's to their credit that these early recordings haven't dated as much as those of their South-of-the-border contemporaries." (Q MAGAZINE)

You Viewed